Busy, busy September so far!

… AND WE’RE BACK! How we’ve missed you! :)

Somewhere in between his work and my doctor’s visits and physical therapy sessions, B and I have been busy with the following:

1. Giving in to my food cravings!

SHIOK. 01-05 Fort Forum Bldg., Bonifacio Stop Over, 31st and 2nd St, Bonifacio Global City. (L-R: Interiors, Iced milk tea, Char Kway Teow, Steamed Fish Fillet-Lunch portion)

It’s not the prettiest of places and air-conditioning seems to always be a problem, but it’s not called “shiok” (Singaporean slang for satisfying) for nothing. B and I have kept on coming back here for hawker fare, and I find myself asking time and again for their Char Kway Teow. Shiok’s service is fast, with relatively inexpensive food that keeps my belly happy.

ST. GERALD’S COFFEE SHOP. 2/F P & E Building 12 United Street Corner First St., Barangay Kapitolyo, Pasig. (L-R: Baked macaroni, Taco + Egg mayo sandwich)

The first time I was here with B (some 2 years ago), I remember being floored. The piping-hot baked macaroni was oozing with beef and cheese, and I remember telling myself to come back someday for its tacos and sans rival. (I was too busy enjoying the food, I forgot to mind the pretty interiors.)

Well after one rehab session, B and I finally returned to this pretty coffee shop and we left disappointed. While the macaroni’s portions were just as I remembered it, I couldn’t find the overflowing beef and cheese. The beef wasn’t in B’s taco either, and while in the past those ‘executive meals’ would come with a slice of cake, this time it came with a cookie (to be fair, it was a good cookie, but B and I were expecting to have our cake). Pshaw. We left a bit hungry still, and I grabbed my coffee someplace else.

ANCIS’ CUISINE BY ALBERGUS. Gilmore Ave. cor N. Domingo, San Juan. (L-R: Squid Sisig, Puso ng Saging, Bangus Steak)

For a while now, B and I’ve noticed this little nook on our way home from work. We’d usually decide against trying it out, given the limited parking that area has and the horrible traffic we’d experience along Gilmore during rush hour.

So after heading home early one day, we finally got our chance. Ancis’ Cuisine serves inexpensive home-cooked Filipino dishes in solo (good for one) and buddy (good for B :) portions. Since its meals were designed for individuals and small families residing in the condo-packed vicinity, they’re packed in microwaveable dishes and nuked if one opted to dine-in.

B and I decided to take our orders home, and we were happiest with our bangus steaks. The squid sisig had lots of tofu (that’s not necessarily a bad thing in my opinion) and the squid was cooked just right (a really good thing). I was also surprised with their puso ng saging, since I’ve never had it with coconut milk before. Yum :) We look forward to trying out their other dishes. The best part? We found out that night that they deliver!

2. Enjoying the ongoing Citibank promo

After enjoying Despicable Me for a lot less (thanks B for convincing me to see it), B and I also got 6 free Krispy Kreme glazed donuts for the card-charged rehab sessions! :) Woohoo! So happy!

Note to B: maybe we could give these away at our wedding? :)

3. Learning a new craft – Quilling!

Before you continue, please do check out what prompted me to learn more about this craft, and the artist + beautiful work that truly inspired me to take paper quilling up.

I know that I’m nowhere near creating a rolled-up + pinched piece of awesomeness but I hope you don’t mind my sharing my first few tries at it. Rolling strips of paper was never so relaxing and exciting at the same time! :D

I’m so glad Mira liked our note card (apart from our present, of course). Happy 18th, Mira! ;) Thanks too B, for giving me this excellent beginner’s book!

So what have you been busy with?

And oh, are you liking the blog’s new look? I chose to go with this theme instead because there was just too much white space with the last one. Hope I made the right choice. See you soon!

Many, many thanks, Pugly Pixel for the purdy embellishments! Me truly likey your site :)

Interested in quilling? Check out heartquills.multiply.com, or if in Manila, I got my beginner’s kit at Craft World, SM Megamall.

