B distracts me with dinner (and it worked)

Hey there!

Oh how’ve ya been? I missed you!

Here, lemme give you a hug :)

 

There. Got that?

 

I’m awfully sorry for the cyber silence. I’ve been really unlucky lately (ok, unlucky a lot) with my internet connection at home.

So last weekend, while waiting for our broadband provider to actually provide, B took me out for dinner and some retail therapy.

We first checked out the newly opened Muji store here in Manila. I wasn’t planning on spending much; we were just after the chocolate-peanut clusters, only to find that the store didn’t carry them yet. So I found myself picking up some shirts, stationery and grabbing their sweet-smelling hand lotion.

Muji had a long queue that night, but I spent the time instead befriending the guy behind me and asking him about what he got  :) When it was my turn at the cashier, I was surprised to learn that my bill was more than what I expected. After settling my purchase, I went through my receipt and lo, I realized I spent a fortune on THE sweet-smelling hand lotion!

I thought the lotion’s price read PHP55 when I grabbed it off the shelf, but instead it was PHP595. (?!?!) Doh! Stupid, stupid me!

And so before I succumbed to buyer’s remorse, B treated me and my bourgeois mandarin&lemon-scented hands to a wonderful Vietnamese dinner at Zao.

What we had: Spicy Lemongrass Tofu, Salt + Pepper Calamari, and Cahn Chua (sweet, sour and spicy tamarind soup – we got Mekong fish instead of shrimp)

To B: Many, many thanks for the lovely dinner treat. You know, keeping me warm and holding my hand all evening were more than enough to distract silly me from my crazy purchases.

Well, OK. I’m not being totally honest. While you were at the loo I had time to test the marker I got that night.  Heehee.

And now back to you, dear friends: Like I said earlier, I’ve missed you. I hope all’s well with you. Hopefully I’d get to post more often. Hopefully my internet connection will finally remain up to snuff… And should you need a crazy shopping bud at Muji, do let me know – I’m coming back for the markers that guy had in his basket ;)

More hugs!

– P.

Muji skin care photo via Shopping Finds

